NBA Rookie of the Year

Report: Kyrie Irving to be named Rookie of the Year


Here’s another NBA postseason award we all knew was coming it was just a matter of when….

Cavaliers point guard Kyrie Irving will be named the NBA Rookie of the Year on Tuesday, something first reported by Marc Stein at ESPN and confirmed by the Associated Press among others.

The voting should be almost a unanimous coronation for the former Duke player. He averaged 18.5 points and 5.5 assists a game, shot 39.9 percent from three, became a dangerous late game threat, and restored some hope to a Cleveland franchise that has been lacking it.

As the season wore on he pulled away from the competition for this award, although Ricky Rubio and Kenneth Faried will get some votes. This was one of the easiest choices on the ballot (and he would have gotten my vote as well)

Video: Talking rookie of the year with Chris Sheridan

1 Comment
This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

Chris Sheridan of and I were on NBC SportsTalk (6 p.m. Eastern every day on Versus, but I don’t need to tell you that) and the twitter question of the day was about Rookie of the Year. Personally, I’m putting my money on Derrick Williams (an athlete who can finish running the floor next to Ricky Rubio) but Sheridan had an interesting response that might interest Knicks fans.

Also, below we talk and debate the CBA a little, who won and who lost, plus some of the effects of it. Which are a tad hard to predict right now.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

Derrick Williams gamblers favorite to be Rookie of Year


Kyrie Irving was the consensus No. 1 pick because of position and potential, but Derrick Williams — who comes into the league ready to score right away — might have a better rookie season.

Which is why the bookmakers at made him the favorite to be the Rookie of the Year:

Derrick Williams 9/2
Jimmer Fredette 5/1
Kyrie Irving 11/2
Enes Kanter 7/1
Ricky Rubio 15/2
Kemba Walker 15/2
Brandon Knight 10/1
Jan Vesely 12/1
Klay Thompson 15/1
Marcus Morris 15/1
Tristan Thompson 16/1
Alec Burks 18/1
Marshon Brooks 18/1
Markieff Morris 18/1

Just a reminder here — this is not the bookmakers predicting what will happen, it’s them predicting how people will bet on the race. They want to spread the money around so they win no matter who wins the actual race. And, as you can tell by the size of the buildings in Vegas, bookmakers are pretty good at it.

Let’s just hope there’s a season so we can see who wins.