NBA rescinding Draymond Green’s technical foul for yelling at teammate

Warriors forward Draymond Green vs. Knicks
Noah Graham/NBAE via Getty Images
0 Comments

In the Warriors’ loss to the Knicks last night, Draymond Green got a technical foul (and ejected) for yelling… at teammate James Wiseman.

NBC Sports Bay Area:

According to Golden State coach Steve Kerr, another referee informed him a short time later that was a mistake.

The NBA apparently agreed.

Shams Charania of The Athletic:

If the referees could quickly gather and realize the error, why couldn’t they rescind the technical at the time?

The NBA rescinding the technical now does little good. Because that was Green’s second technical foul, he got ejected. The Warriors lost a key player for the entire second half, when the game got away from them.

At least Green will save the accompanying $2,000 fine and not advance toward the larger fines that come as technical-foul counts increase.

But this should serve as a wakeup call to allow referees to fix their errors in real time.