Australia beats Czech Republic, clinching 2020 Olympic berths for Spain and France

AP Photo
1 Comment

Australia is headed to the FIBA World Cup semifinals.

Spain and France are headed to the 2020 Olympics.

Australia’s 82-70 win over Czech Republic in the World Cup quarterfinals Wednesday set the semifinals for that event: France-Argentina and Spain-Australia. As the top two European finishers, Spain and France have also clinched berths in the 2020 Olympics.

The top teams in the World Cup from each region advance to the Olympics, and now all those are determined. The host also automatically qualifies, which means eight of 12 teams headed to Tokyo are finalized:

  • Argentina (Americas)
  • United States (Americas)
  • Spain (Europe)
  • France (Europe)
  • Australia (Oceania)
  • Nigeria (Africa)
  • Iran (Asia)
  • Japan (host)

The final four spots will be determined through Olympic qualifying tournaments next summer.

Patty Mills led Australia with 24 points against Czech Republic.

Australia, France, Argentina and Spain are all clicking entering the World Cup semifinals. With Team USA’s loss, the final four looks wide open.