Was Kemba Walker fouled on final shot against Brooklyn?

Associated Press
4 Comments

Charlotte had come from 19-points down to Brooklyn and now, down two in the final seconds of regulation, had the chance to win the game or send it to overtime. D'Angelo Russell had missed a game-sealing three, and with 6.2 seconds on the clock Charlotte had a chance.

The Hornets put the ball in the hands of their All-Star Kemba Walker, he brought the ball up and… did Caris LeVert foul him or was that a clean block to preserve Brooklyn’s win?

The Hornets felt it was a foul and coach James Borego sarcastically said postgame he looks forward to reading the NBA’s Two-Minute Report tomorrow. Marvin Williams will get a fine for ripping the officials. With a win the Hornets would have tied the Nets for the six seed in the East, now they are two back.

LeVert, of course, thought it was clean. He said he got the block with his elbow but turned his body to avoid the foul.

What the league says in the Two-Minute Report is moot — it doesn’t change the outcome of the game. The referees did not call a foul, so the Nets get a big road win.