Dennis Smith Jr., John Collins top 2019 NBA Slam Dunk lineup


The 2019 NBA Slam Dunk — yes, that’s its official name — now has its roster set. The All-Star Weekend event that fans love to hate every year will feature some of the league’s at best leapers and young players as they try to vie for the title.

In an effort to make the dunk contest more exciting, the NBA has cut down the amount of players participating this season to just four. They are:

Miles Bridges
John Collins
Hamidou Diallo
Dennis Smith Jr.

Here are the rules of the contest — which, once again, is confusingly called “NBA Slam Dunk” and not “The NBA Slam Dunk Contest” — per the NBA.

In the two-round event, participants can perform any dunk they choose. The players have a maximum of three attempts to complete each dunk in both the first round and the final round. Five judges score every dunk on a scale of 6 to 10, resulting in a high score of 50 and a low score of 30.

All four competitors get two dunks in the first round. The two players with the highest combined score for their two dunks advance to the head-to-head final round. The player with the highest combined score for his two dunks in the final round is crowned the champion.

I’m looking forward to people being disappointed by the Slam Dunk yet again.

Things kick off on Saturday, Feb 16. at 8 p.m. EST.