76ers retiring Moses Malone’s No. 2, giving him statue

AP Photo/Rusty Kennedy

Moses Malone played just four of his prime seasons with the 76ers (and then another late in his career)

But they were four great seasons.

From 1982-83 to 1985-86, Malone won MVP, NBA Finals MVP and a championship and made two All-NBA first teams, an All-NBA second team and four All-Star teams.

So, Philadelphia is honoring him.

76ers release:

The Philadelphia 76ers announced today the team will retire the late Moses Malone’s No. 2 in a special halftime ceremony on Friday, Feb. 8, 2019 when the 76ers host the Denver Nuggets at 7 p.m. on ESPN, NBC Sports Philadelphia and 97.5 The Fanatic.

Prior to the game, the 76ers will unveil a Malone sculpture on “76ers Legends Walk” at the Philadelphia 76ers Training Complex in Camden, New Jersey.

Honestly, I’m surprised Philadelphia didn’t already retire Malone’s number. But he spent so little time there. It is a borderline case.

I’m not sure sure why now, but Malone – who already has his number retired by the Rockets – will join select company with multiple retired jerseys. The rest of the list:

  • Wilt Chamberlain (Warriors, 76ers, Lakers)
  • Pete Maravich (Jazz, Pelicans, Hawks)
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Lakers, Bucks)
  • Shaquille O’Neal (Lakers, Heat)
  • Oscar Robertson (Bucks, Kings)
  • Charles Barkley (76ers, Suns)
  • Clyde Drexler (Trail Blazers, Rockets)
  • Julius Erving (Nets, 76ers)
  • Earl Monroe (Knicks, Wizards)
  • Bob Lanier (Pistons, Bucks)
  • Dikembe Mutombo (Hawks, Nuggets)
  • Nate Thurmond (Warriors, Cavaliers)
  • Jerry Sloan (Jazz, Bulls)
  • Kobe Bryant (Lakers, Lakers)
  • Michael Jordan (Bulls, Heat)