Dwane Casey, who was fired by Raptors, wins NBA Coach of the Year

Getty Images

For the second time in NBA history, the guy who won NBA Coach of the Year was fired before the next season started. The first time was George Karl, who won the award in 2013 and was canned by the Nuggets.

This time it’s Dwane Casey, who led the Raptors to the most wins in franchise history (59), coached a team that revamped its offensive style to get there,  and who had bettered that team every season he was in Toronto (the best run of hoops in franchise history). He was let go after the Raptors were bounced by LeBron James in the playoffs again.

Monday night, Casey was named the NBA Coach of the Year.

The media vote on this echoed the vote of Casey’s fellow NBA coaches, who awarded him their COY honors.

Casey has since landed another job as the coach of the Detroit Pistons.

Voting was close between the top three. Casey had the most total points and 39 first-place votes, followed by Utah’s Quin Snyder who had 22 first place votes. Boston’s Brad Stevens was third (23 first-place votes, Snyder had more second and third place to have more total points). After those three there was a drop off in points but the order of finish was Brett Brown, Mike D’Antoni, and Nate McMillan.