Manu Ginobili gets first technical foul in more than six years (video)

AP Photo/Eric Gay
0 Comments

Manu Ginobili playfully issued a technical foul to a referee a couple years ago for passing him the ball for a free throw before the Spurs guard was ready.

But Ginobili receiving a technical foul?

Before Ginobili was hit for one for arguing a call against the Kings last night, he hadn’t gotten one in more than six years.

His last technical came Jan. 26, 2011, part of a double technical with Raja Bell in a win over the Jazz.

San Antonio eventually rallied from down 28 to beat Sacramento, 114-104, yesterday. Maybe Ginobili’s fervor helped rally the Spurs?

Ginobili also got a delay-of-game technical foul in 2015, but like with the NBA’s technical-foul counter, I’m counting only unsportsmanlike technical fouls. Ginobili got one of those in the 2014 playoffs, but like most records, I’m counting only the regular season.