Russell Westbrook hits referee in head with ball after play stops, gets technical (VIDEO)

3 Comments

The good news for Russell Westbrook was that during the past week the NBA rescinded two of his technical fouls: Nov. 14 at Detroit and  Dec. 17 against Phoenix. That dropped his total for the season from 11 down to nine.

To celebrate, Westbrook picked up another Wednesday night.

You can see the video above: Westbrook dribbled the ball up the court and just as he gets over half court a timeout is called (a common move by teams). Westbrook tries to toss the ball to Sean Corbin on the baseline, but Corbin is not looking for it and the ball just bangs him in the head.

Westbrook got a technical for it. He didn’t deserve it, I know the ref got hit in the head but it’s clear there is no intent there, other than the intention to give the ball to the official like he is supposed to. The letter of the law may say technical, but sometimes you need to take the spirit of the rule into account.

Hopefully, the league will rescind this one, too.