NBA: Nets got away with key foul late in double-overtime win over Clippers

1 Comment

Doc Rivers went nuts about the refereeing during the Clippers’ 127-122 double-overtime loss to the Nets on Tuesday, getting ejected.

If he stuck around a little longer, he could’ve seen the crucial missed call the NBA later admitted was incorrect.

The Last Two Minute Report contains two missed calls.

The first, an uncalled travel on J.J. Redick in the first overtime, was inconsequential. The Clippers turned the ball over on that possession anyway.

The second helped Brooklyn clinch the win.

With the Clippers down two and 37 seconds remaining in the second overtime, Chris Paul missed a jumper. Sean Kilpatrick grabbed the defensive rebound and converted a three-point play on the other end to ice the game.

But Kilpatrick secured the defensive rebound with help from Isaiah Whitehead, who got away with a loose-ball fouling DeAndre Jordan:

Whitehead (BKN) clamps the arm of Jordan (LAC) and affects his ability to retrieve the rebound.

The Nets weren’t in the penalty, so Jordan wouldn’t have gotten free throws. But the Clippers would’ve gotten the ball back with another chance to tie or take the lead.

Instead, this missed call robbed them of that opportunity.