At times, it felt like Kemba Walker against the Jazz yesterday. Walker scored 52 points in the Hornets’ double-overtime win.
But he had help – including from the referees.
The NBA’s Last Two Minute Report revealed two incorrect calls – both important, both in Charlotte’s favor.
The first came with a minute left in the first overtime:
As Utah attempted to inbound the ball, Nicolas Batum should’ve been called for fouling Gordon Hayward, the NBA ruled:
Batum (CHA) grabs and holds Hayward (UTA) affecting his ability to cleanly catch the inbounds pass
That would’ve given the Jazz a free throw and the ball.
Still, they forced second overtime – only to get hosed on another key call.
With 3:04 left, Cody Zeller plainly pushed Trey Burke, who was attempting to save a loose ball. The NBA deemed that should’ve been a foul:
Zeller (CHA) pushes Burke (UTA) affecting his ability to save the ball from going OOB.
Instead of Utah getting the ball, Charlotte kept it.
Then, for good measure, Walker hit a 3-pointer to give the Hornets a six-point lead – the biggest in the game’s final 16 minutes.