NBA: Hornets got away with two key fouls in double-OT win over Jazz

Getty Images
0 Comments

At times, it felt like Kemba Walker against the Jazz yesterday. Walker scored 52 points in the Hornets’ double-overtime win.

But he had help – including from the referees.

The NBA’s Last Two Minute Report revealed two incorrect calls – both important, both in Charlotte’s favor.

The first came with a minute left in the first overtime:

As Utah attempted to inbound the ball, Nicolas Batum should’ve been called for fouling Gordon Hayward, the NBA ruled:

Batum (CHA) grabs and holds Hayward (UTA) affecting his ability to cleanly catch the inbounds pass

That would’ve given the Jazz a free throw and the ball.

Still, they forced second overtime – only to get hosed on another key call.

With 3:04 left, Cody Zeller plainly pushed Trey Burke, who was attempting to save a loose ball. The NBA deemed that should’ve been a foul:

Zeller (CHA) pushes Burke (UTA) affecting his ability to save the ball from going OOB.

Instead of Utah getting the ball, Charlotte kept it.

Then, for good measure, Walker hit a 3-pointer to give the Hornets a six-point lead – the biggest in the game’s final 16 minutes.