Referees admit blown call on Carmelo Anthony aiding Knicks win

5 Comments

There were 22 seconds left in the game, the Knicks led 106-105, and New York was taking the ball out of bounds. The Raptors decided to pressure the inbound pass, try to get a steal or force a Knicks mistake, then if that failed they would have to foul and play the free throw game.

The ball came in to Carmelo Anthony, and the Raptors triple teamed him. As you can see from the video below, Anthony not only stepped out of bounds, he traveled. But there was no call.

Anthony got the ball to Lance Thomas, who was fouled, and the Knicks hung on for the win. After the game, crew chief Ed Malloy admitted they blew the call. This is from the official transcript of a pool reporter talking to Maloy after the game.

Question 2: Did you see Carmelo Anthony step out of bounds?

Malloy: No.

Question 3: Did you see Carmelo Anthony travel?

Malloy: No.

Question 4: Have you reviewed the play since then on video and what did you see?

Malloy: When we came in, we reviewed the play. We did see Anthony step out of bounds and should’ve awarded the ball to Toronto.

When the Anthony play happened right in front of the Raptors’ bench and there was no call, Toronto coach Dwane Casey lost it. He almost drew a technical.

Would the Raptors have won if they had gotten the ball back there? Not necessarily, they were running a lot of very defendable isolation plays at the end of the game, and the Knicks may well have stopped it, as they did on the DeMar DeRozan drive later in an attempt to tie the game (although that shot went in and out). However, the Raptors certainly would have had a better chance than they ended up getting.

The Knicks went on to win 111-109, handing Toronto their third straight loss.