Report: Warriors told a foul would have been called if Stephen Curry missed game-tying 3-pointer

30 Comments

Not only did Stephen Curry make the game-tying 3-pointer in Game 3 against the Pelicans last night, he did it while being fouled (the one time New Orleans fouled quickly).

But Anthony Davis didn’t get called for a foul, and the Warriors had to win in overtime rather than sending Curry to the line in regulation.

Why no whistle?

Marcus Thompson of Bay Area News Group:

https://twitter.com/ThompsonScribe/status/591501559294337024

This is ridiculous.

If it’s a foul, it’s a foul. If it’s not, it’s not.

Whether the shot goes in has nothing do with it.

Unfortunately, it’s also unsurprising. Referees do this all the time.

The NBA has yet to release its two-minute report for this game, but here are two predictions:

1. It will say a foul should have been called.

2. It won’t address the underlying reason no foul was called.

Hopefully, the NBA emphasizes these calls in the offseason. The policy of referees calling a foul only if a shot misses should end as soon as possible.