NBA admits missed foul call in final minutes of Timberwolves’ loss to Clippers

15 Comments

The Timberwolves dropped a close one to the Clippers on Monday, but the 110-105 final score should have been even closer.

The NBA is releasing officiating reports for all calls (and non-calls) made in the final minutes of a close game, defined as being within five points with two minutes left to play.

In the one reviewing this particular contest (which can be viewed in its entirety here), a play that was ruled as a blocked shot with 1:20 remaining was labeled as incorrect on the report, which means that Andrew Wiggins should have received two free throws.

At the time, the Timberwolves trailed by four points, and would have had a pretty good chance to cut it to two, since Wiggins shoots better than 73 percent from the foul line.

Here’s the play in question, which Timberwolves fans likely believed was a foul in real time that went unnoticed by the officials.

Now, this doesn’t mean much in the grand scheme of things; the outcome of the contest, of course, will remain unchanged. But for fans feeling like their team may have gotten hosed on a late-game call, this can provide a sense of validation, while educating officials in the process so that maybe next time, they’ll be able to get things right.

Oh, one other interesting note from this report — remember those two technical fouls on J.J. Redick that resulted in his ejection, and that Redick believed were completely unwarranted? The report graded both of them as being a “correct call,” so Redick won’t be getting his money back after all.