Knicks’ Lance Thomas travels, double dribbles and steps out of bounds without any call from the officials (VIDEO)

16 Comments

Midway through the first quarter of Saturday night’s contest between the Knicks and the Hornets, New York’s Lance Thomas seemed to commit multiple violations during an offensive sequence, yet two officials didn’t seem to have a problem with anything that took place.

Thomas drove baseline, and appeared to step out of bounds — but play was allowed to continue, presumably because the official who was closest was looking at the ball.

But from that point on is when things get really crazy.

Thomas leaves his feet to elevate for the shot, but the ball does not leave his hands before he lands. The referee behind the play makes the signal that the ball was tipped, but while it may have been touched as Thomas was on his way up for the shot, he maintained possession, so a travel should have been called right there.

It wasn’t, so play continued — and because it did, Thomas (legally in the officials’ eyes) initiated the dribble once again.