NBA rescinded technical foul Mark Cuban claimed was assessed to him

3 Comments

Mavericks owner Mark Cuban claimed he was on the receiving end of a technical foul during¬†his team’s thrilling win in Milwaukee on Wednesday, even though it was officially assessed to assistant coach Monte Mathis.

Cuban is not eligible to receive a technical foul, because he doesn’t sit on the Dallas bench — which is why he believed at the time the NBA would eventually rescind it.

A couple of days later, that’s exactly what has happened.

From Tim MacMahon of ESPN Dallas:

The technical foul Dallas Mavericks owner Mark Cuban claimed was called on him — but officially assessed to assistant coach Monte Mathis — has been rescinded by the NBA, head coach Rick Carlisle said. …

According to Cuban and Carlisle, it was a comment from the Mavs’ owner that drew the referee’s ire. However, Cuban is not eligible to be called for a technical foul because he doesn’t sit on the Mavs’ bench. Cuban believes Buchert recognized his mistake and attempted to mask it by calling the technical on Mathis.

“It was ridiculous,” Cuban said Friday. “They knew it, and the ref came up to Monte after the fact and said, ‘Sorry, I’ll send a note.'”

Cuban could sit on the bench as owner of the team, of course, but he chooses not to deliberately so he can act as a fan during games instead.

The referee appeared to forget this important distinction at the time, but all has been rectified.