Pacers’ David West ejected for elbowing Blake Griffin (VIDEO)


David West decided to deliver an unnecessary elbow to the head of Blake Griffin on Saturday, and though it seemed minor in real time, the referees determined that the act warranted a flagrant-two foul, which comes with it an automatic ejection.

Anytime something like this goes own, it’s likely the result of a physical buildup that’s taken place between the two players to this point in the contest. Nevertheless, West’s not-so-subtle elbow here was completely unnecessary, and the referees likely did the right thing in removing him from the rest of the game’s activities.

The Pacers did just fine without him, and used a strong first half to finish with the 106-92 victory over an L.A. team that came into this one on a five-game winning streak.