Carlos Boozer accidentally punches referee below the belt (VIDEO)

11 Comments

This looked at lot worse than it was.

After converting a shot in the lane and drawing a foul call on Dirk Nowitzki, Carlos Boozer was excited. So excited, in fact, that he failed to notice referee Danny Crawford standing right next to him.

Boozer went for the celebratory fist pump, which ended up accidentally punching Crawford squarely below the belt.

Thankfully Crawford was fine, and laughed it off immediately afterward. Boozer obviously didn’t mean to do it, but you have to wonder if a less seasoned official may have written the play off as quickly.

Crawford, who has been in the league as an official since the 1984-85 season, has enough experience to know how to handle an unintentional play like this.