Did Manu Ginobili travel on his game winner? Yes he did.


It was the other dramatic game winner Wednesday night — Manu Ginobili hit a step-back from the elbow as the buzzer sounded giving the Spurs 92-90 win over the Bucks.

But was it legal?

Watch the video below, Ginobili travels.

Ginobili drives left (of course he does) with Luc Richard Mbah a Moute on him, gets to the elbow, plants both feet, steps back and plants both feet again, elevates and hits the shot.


That is a textbook travel. Even in the NBA. That was no bunny hop on the drive, that was both feet replanting. Bucks coach Scott Skiles said so after the game to the media, calling it a travel.

Which means he will get a fine, but it makes him no less right. Ginobili traveled. But no call was made and the Spurs get the win.

UPDATE: We will add that this travel opinion is not universal — our own Rob Mahoney, writing at Hardwood Paroxysm, uses video to argue this was a legal jump stop.